Baby Blocks- Decorating Sides?

Decorating By LoriMc Updated 24 Aug 2013 , 12:53pm by LoriMc

LoriMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoriMc Posted 24 Aug 2013 , 2:26am
post #1 of 5

I have to make these blocks for a shower on Sunday.  I'm making 6 (5") cakes, covered in buttercream with fondant only for decorations. 

I'm just stressing a little on fitting them onto a board and being able to decorate all sides of the blocks.  It's hard to say from the picture she gave me if they are decorated on all sides. 

Do you think it's a cop out if I don't put decorations on the sides that are in-between and can't be seen?

I've never done blocks before, so I'm not sure what is standard!

4 replies
DeniseNH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseNH Posted 24 Aug 2013 , 3:06am
post #2 of 5

Two things to think about.  Since they're individual blocks, the customer is probably planning on giving each guest one block so you probably need to do all sides because all sides will be seen when separated.  They look like they're covered in fondant so I'd put each block on a foamcore square and decorate all four sides then secure them to your board with doublesided tape.

LoriMc Posted 24 Aug 2013 , 3:32am
post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeniseNH 

Two things to think about.  Since they're individual blocks, the customer is probably planning on giving each guest one block so you probably need to do all sides because all sides will be seen when separated.  They look like they're covered in fondant so I'd put each block on a foamcore square and decorate all four sides then secure them to your board with doublesided tape.

Well, there's 40 people coming so they won't each be getting a square, ha.

I was thinking I would put each on an individual board.  More work for me, but I think it will help me in the end. 

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 24 Aug 2013 , 5:53am
post #4 of 5