Cake Circles Vs Cake Boards...i'm Confused

Decorating By Nadiaa Updated 23 Aug 2013 , 1:56am by Nadiaa

Nadiaa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nadiaa Posted 23 Aug 2013 , 12:31am
post #1 of 6

Hi all :) I'm new to covering cakes with fondant, and have been reading lots of threads and tutorials and can't seem to work out one thing. People talk about cake circles and cake boards. I know a cake board is the covered presentation board you sit your cake on, but what is a cake circle? Do you put the cake on a circle of cardboard that is the same size as the cake to decorate it then move it to the cake board? If yes, then I have some other questions -

1. How do you move the cake to your cake board without squashing or denting your decorated cake? 

2. How thick does the cardboard circle need to be? 

3. How do you attach it to the cake board so it doesn't slide? 

4. Do you do this for BC cakes as well as fondant? I've never used a cake circle for my BC cakes, I've always just placed the cake on the board and decoated it there. 

Sorry for all the questions, they're just the missing pieces I can't seem to figure out! Thanks so much for your patience and help xxx

5 replies
Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 23 Aug 2013 , 12:39am
post #2 of 6

AYes you'll have a presentation board that will need to hold the weight of the entire finished cake. Then a cake board (cake circle, same thing) that's thin like cardboard will go under each tier. You wouldn't have used them before since you hadn't done a stacked cake.

The boards under each cake tier along with your internal support system (whether you use SPS, bubble tea straws, dowels, etc) will keep your cakes from collapsing.

You attach them with your buttercream, royal icing, chocolate (some people use carpet tape).

Smckinney07 Posted 23 Aug 2013 , 12:42am
post #3 of 6