Need Help With Daughter's First Birthday Cake.

Decorating By aubreysmom701 Updated 5 Feb 2014 , 6:16am by StevenSmith

aubreysmom701 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aubreysmom701 Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 7:53pm
post #1 of 19

Hi everyone I am new here and I have quite a few questions so please bear with me. I am making a cute as a button themed birthday cake for my daughter's first birthday at on the 23rd of this month. I need help/ tips on how to recreate the cake and cupcakes here:

http://cakecentral.com/g/i/2892734/a/3286518/6-8-vanilla-cake-top-has-chocolate-ganache-filling-bottom-has-strawberries-n-cream-iced-in-home-made-buttercream-w-fondant-decorations-the-colors-were-made-to-match-the-little-girls-tutu-this-cake-was-also-ordered-with-24-ruffle-button/]

I'm a pretty good baker and have taken a class (Wilton) on the basics. Here is what I have questions about. To get my cake this smooth do I really need to use a super sweet butter cream frosting? I am not a fan of the Wilton buttercream recipe or their decorator's frosting. I would like something airy and light but I know that might not get a really smooth surface. 

I also need tips on how to stack tiered cakes. How many dowels to use? Wood vs. plastic. 

Last but not least I don't want to do everything at the last minute should I bake the cakes in advance and freeze them? If so how to store them so the will remain moist, flavorful and not freezer burnt. ANY helpful tips, suggestions or guides are welcome. Thanks! 

18 replies
giggles100788 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
giggles100788 Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 8:05pm
post #2 of 19

I just made the "indydebi" frosting recipe last night (it can be found in the recipe section here on CC).  Its is really smooth and taste great but not too sweet. But if you feel like it is too sweet, you can always add a pinch of salt to cut the sweetness.