Fondant Question

Decorating By lapetitechef Updated 5 Aug 2013 , 8:40pm by giggles100788

lapetitechef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lapetitechef Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 7:30pm
post #1 of 16

So, I'm totally new to fondant.  I know that if you steam it, it will leave a beautiful shine, but is there any other way to get that shine?  I do not have a steamer.  I made marshmallow fondant so I dont know if that makes a difference.  

Thanks!

15 replies
giggles100788 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
giggles100788 Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 7:50pm
post #2 of 16

Before I got my steamer, I used a small iron that i had with a steam setting and just pressed the steam button over and over to make the iron release the steam and give my cakes that nice shine! Just make sure the keep the iron a good distance away from your cake, you don't want it melting anything. Hope this helps!!

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 7:53pm
post #3 of 16

AAre you making a purse cake that needs to be shiny like patent leather? Cause honestly, most times shiny fondant is not a desired look. We do what we can to make sure it's not shiny. Applying luster dust for sparkle, sure, in some cases that's great.

aem1029 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aem1029 Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 8:14pm
post #4 of 16

I agree AZ...I cannot stand that look!  I cringe when I watch Cake Boss because they do all their cakes that way it seems.

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 8:23pm
post #5 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZCouture 

Are you making a purse cake that needs to be shiny like patent leather? Cause honestly, most times shiny fondant is not a desired look. We do what we can to make sure it's not shiny. Applying luster dust for sparkle, sure, in some cases that's great.

That's exactly what it looks like!  I say that every time I see it.  

lapetitechef Posted 1 Aug 2013 , 8:25pm
post #6 of 16