Newbie After Some Advice Please :)

Decorating By helennicole Updated 1 Aug 2013 , 4:36am by RubinaD

helennicole Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
helennicole Posted 31 Jul 2013 , 5:19pm
post #1 of 11

Hi All,

I am completely new to cake decorating, I have bought a few books and subscribed to a magazine. I am lost as to where to start, there are so many tools out there.

Would anybody be able to tell me a list of beginners tools please? The basics and then I can go from there maybe. Also would it be best to get all the named tools, Wilton is popular from everything I have seen or is it ok to use cheaper brands?

Thanks in advance

Helen :) xxx

10 replies
BatterUpCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BatterUpCake Posted 31 Jul 2013 , 5:27pm
post #2 of 11

An offset spatula, a bench scraper and a turntable. I would not invest a lot of money until you decide if it is something you enjoy. Michael's offers classes. Best of luck!

Oh and a leveling knife!

The Cake Shoppe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
The Cake Shoppe Posted 31 Jul 2013 , 5:28pm
post #3 of 11

What tools are you referring to?  Gumpaste tools?  Fondant?  Or are you just wanting to do piping?  It depends on what you are trying to accomplish as to what tools you need.

helennicole Posted 31 Jul 2013 , 5:36pm
post #4 of 11

I think to start, piping and fondant, I would just like to start with fairly basic cupcakes and small cakes. This is all completely new to me apart from some very amateur cupcakes :s

BatterUpCake Posted 31 Jul 2013 , 5:46pm
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by helennicole 

I think to start, piping and fondant, I would just like to start with fairly basic cupcakes and small cakes. This is all completely new to me apart from some very amateur cupcakes :s