Americolor And Other Vibrant Colouring Food Gels Tips Please

Decorating By bolus Updated 15 Sep 2013 , 7:48pm by darkchocolate

bolus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bolus Posted 30 Jul 2013 , 5:15pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all,

I am quite new to cake decorating and recently did a spiderman cake and being a novice I coloured my fondant with my wilton colours and waited until the absolute last minute before decorating. The cake came out nice but unfortunately the colours were quite dull and pasty. I have seen pictures of cakes with vibrant colours hence my search for bright food colourings. Reading a few threads on here people have suggested using americolor and I started searching for it.

My question is do I buy just the soft food gels? or the electric colours? There seem to be quite a variety and I just want to make sure I get the right ones.

Also, if there are any brands that give even more vivid colours and don't affect the taste I would be grateful for the knowledge.

Many thanks in advance.

8 replies
CakeRae80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRae80 Posted 30 Jul 2013 , 5:37pm
post #2 of 9

The electric colors are gel.  They are just more of an "electric" color.  They are just different shades of green, yellow, blue, etc.

bolus Posted 30 Jul 2013 , 5:45pm
post #3 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by CakeRae80 

The electric colors are gel.  They are just more of an "electric" color.  They are just different shades of green, yellow, blue, etc.

Ok So can I buy a set of both of just the electric colour will do and I can make it as deep or as light as I want? Thanks

CakeRae80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRae80 Posted 30 Jul 2013 , 6:23pm
post #4 of 9

Most places I've seen will sell the electric colors in either a group or single.  Just like any color, you can make them darker, deeper, etc. when adding additional colors to them.  For example I use royal blue from wilton and add black into it and it becomes a navy blue.