Inspiration For A Heart Transplant Anniversary Cake?

Decorating By marzie Updated 15 Aug 2013 , 9:32pm by marzie

marzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marzie Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 9:20pm
post #1 of 16

AHi, I'm a novice cake decorator and have just started doing a few cakes for my children's birthdays over the last year.Next month, My mother in law is celebrating her 4 year anniversary of a successful heart transplant from which she has gotten a new lease of life. We are planning on having a party to celebrate and I would love to make a special cake to surprise her. Any one have any ideas on how I could decorate it (bearing in mind I'm still very much a beginner!:) ) Thanks for your help.

15 replies
hbquikcomjamesl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hbquikcomjamesl Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 10:13pm
post #2 of 16

How about a heart-shaped (as in Valentine) cake, bearing an edible print of a photograph of a Human heart?

as you wish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
as you wish Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 10:45pm
post #3 of 16

AHowever you decorate the outside, I think you should use this cake pan: http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?sku=2105-157

marzie Posted 23 Jul 2013 , 9:22pm
post #4 of 16

AThanks for the replies ladies. I love the cake pan, I'm off to have a search on amazon as wilton don't deliver here. :)

FrostedMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FrostedMoon Posted 23 Jul 2013 , 9:53pm
post #5 of 16

I love the idea of a heart baked in to the cake! Just be careful about using images of a real heart, etc.  Cutting in to that and eating it can be a bit much for some, especially when it's celebrating a major surgery.

For the design, what about cut out hearts all around the outside, maybe with one little red heart instead of the purple, like the top tier here.  Then you can write something on top if you like.

http://bronniebakes.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/19.jpg