Square Wedding Cake

Business By channyb Updated 5 Aug 2013 , 6:01pm by channyb

channyb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
channyb Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 10:37pm
post #1 of 13

Hey it's my first time making a wedding cake. The customer wants a 3 layer square cake to feed 150 people how much should I charge?

12 replies
morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 10:44pm
post #2 of 13

AJust a fair warning you're about to get hit over the head with responses. I recommend doing a search on here for "pricing" and you'll ging all you need and more.

shanter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanter Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 11:02pm
post #3 of 13

Here are two sites that explain how to price a cake:

http://www.cakeboss.com/PricingGuideline.aspx

http://jasonkraftblog.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/the-magic-pricing-formula/

I agree that you can search on "pricing" or "cake price" (type that in the search box at the top of the page and click on the magnifying glass), then in the menu at the left, choose Threads. There's plenty of information here.

channyb Posted 17 Jul 2013 , 3:08am
post #4 of 13

Thanks!  I quoted them $300 and suffice it to say I have not heard back.

morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 17 Jul 2013 , 5:46am
post #5 of 13

AThen my dear, you've dodged a headache. Because $300 is on the low end for wedding cakes of any kind.

channyb Posted 17 Jul 2013 , 4:20pm
post #6 of 13

I was trying to base my pricing on about $2 per serving cause they just wanted buttercream. They also wanted each layer to be a different flavor, but I guess that's what happens when you try to do a favor for a friend! Thanks for the info!

PS Love the cake calculators! icon_smile.gif

ellavanilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellavanilla Posted 17 Jul 2013 , 10:58pm
post #7 of 13