Choice Of Butter Cream And Butter Cream Thickness With Sculpted Cakes?

Decorating By TheNerdyBaker Updated 16 Jul 2013 , 7:49pm by Smckinney07

TheNerdyBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheNerdyBaker Posted 15 Jul 2013 , 6:41pm
post #1 of 4

ASo next month I have been asked to create a 3D Hyacinth Hippo from Fantasia (the Hippo ballerina) and I have little to no experience in sculpted cakes.

I have been re-watching the whole Ace of Cakes series as a method of research, and I have noticed that when they did any kind of sculpting of a cake, the butter cream between the cake layers was very VERY thin, almost as if it was simply there as a glue. The same went for the outside of the cake. It seemed like simply a crumb coat was applied in order to get the fondant to stick.

Is this in line with how most people do it?

I also noticed that he used a mass produced American butter cream to cover his cakes (at least in the early seasons). Is an ABC preferred for sculpted cakes over a SMBC? Pros and cons?

Thanks in advance guys and gals =D

3 replies
TheNerdyBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheNerdyBaker Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 4:57pm
post #2 of 4

AI hate to be "that guy" but...

Bump?

The Cake Shoppe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
The Cake Shoppe Posted 16 Jul 2013 , 5:22pm
post #3 of 4

I haven't ever watched Ace of Cakes, so I am totally unfamiliar with how they do it.  However, the sculpted cakes that I have done, I use slightly less buttercream between layers than usual and if I'm covering in fondant then yes just a crumb coat.  My opinion may not be the popular one, but my concern on a carved cake is more about the correct denseness/sturdiness of the actual cake, rather than the frosting/finish.  You will have to ask someone else (maybe ChellesCakes?--she made a wicked awesome Garfield just the other day!) about the SMBC/IMBC/ABC question.  I use ABC, mostly because I can't be bothered to make IM or SM. shhh.gif