Dr. Seuss Hat Layered Cake

Decorating By ZsCakes Updated 12 Jul 2013 , 10:31pm by melanie-1221

ZsCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ZsCakes Posted 12 Jul 2013 , 5:22pm
post #1 of 6

AHi!! I'm VERY new at this and I have a few questions: 1. After I bake my 8" do I leave them out and layered them first or do I put them in the fridge and THEN layered them?

2. If I'm putting filling in between the layers do I use cardboard in between?? I am using dowels

3. To carve them, they have to be cold? Or frozen?

4. How far in advance I can do this cake and where do I store it?

Sorry for the dumb questions!!!

5 replies
Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 12 Jul 2013 , 6:03pm
post #2 of 6

AI always bake my cakes, put them on a cardboard round (you can first cover these in Saran wrap so you can reuse-I end up transferring them to foam core anyway) wrap the cakes in Saran wrap, then foil and stick them in the fridge/freezer. I like to carve/level/torte my cakes when they are cold, makes them much easier to handle!

I always have some sort of filling between my layers: buttercream, lemon curd, mousse, etc. if its something that's not stiff you should make a dam with buttercream around the layer then spread your filling no higher then the dam (I've heard some people don't do this but this is the way I was taught-it depends on your filling) so if your using something like lemon curd it won't bulge out on the sides when it settles. You don't need cardboard between your filling, but you do need some sort of support under you cakes (ie: sps, cake rounds, foam core) as well as internal supports (ie: tea straws, dowels) if your stacking a tiered cake.