3D Cake Flop?

Baking By Mona Updated 21 Sep 2005 , 6:23pm by freddie

Mona Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mona Posted 17 Sep 2005 , 10:23am
post #1 of 9

Help! I just made a 3D lamb cake as I was putting the icing on the head fell off and it was hollow. Is this the way it is supposed to be? I'm trying to make a unicorn for my neice, the party is Sat at 3.
Thanks so much! icon_cry.gif
Mona

8 replies
Lemondrop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lemondrop Posted 17 Sep 2005 , 11:15am
post #2 of 9

I'm so sorry. I've never used this pan before, but I've heard the same story from a few people. The hollow part is new....is shouldn't be hollow. Probably a huge bubble. The only advice I can give you is, if the one you have now can' t be salvaged, then try putting pudding in with your cake mix(if you used a cake mix) and put a dowel in through the head...to hold it. I hope this makes sense.

Good luck.....let us know what happened.

Mona Posted 17 Sep 2005 , 1:57pm
post #3 of 9

Well I made another one. Stayed up all night and Im sure the same thing is going to happen it feels too soft. I used a cake mix W/pudding. Im not sure I have enouggh time to make another one. I think I will give up and go buy a center peice for my base of green grass. I thought it would so cute.

Thanks for your advise.
Mona icon_smile.gif

twindees Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twindees Posted 17 Sep 2005 , 2:27pm
post #4 of 9

I think you needed a pound cake something more on the dense side. Acake mix is to soft of a cake for the stand up pans. (I think) When I did the Pooh stand up with a cake mix the head also fell off, but when I did it with a pound cakr it worked just fine.

Mona Posted 17 Sep 2005 , 2:49pm
post #5 of 9

I think I will try one more time.I have until this afternoon to finish. I just hate not to finish the cake the unicorn would look so good on top of the cake.
Thanks! Thanks ! Thanks!
icon_smile.gif

Mona Posted 17 Sep 2005 , 5:48pm
post #6 of 9