Pricing?

Business By odell319 Updated 9 Jun 2014 , 3:22pm by momo4s

odell319 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
odell319 Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 48

ADo you charge less if your a home baker?

47 replies
keepingitreal21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
keepingitreal21 Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 4:26pm
post #2 of 48

NO, why would you? That's the problem with some new home bakers. I have been there and learned the hard way. Don't undersell yourself, your time is worth more than you think. Not to mention, when you undersell yourself, your undercutting a cake artist, bakery or decorator in your area that has worked hard to get established. I realized long ago that selling my cakes cheap was a disservice to them and myself. Since I was not selling cakes for a living, I was taking from someone who depended on that money to support a family or their business. Now I have my pricing where it should be and I'm not always the cheapest choice but my time is worth it. Either they will use me or they won't but I will feel good about my price the next day. HTH

P.S. Search for the jason_kraft profile. IMO he's like the pricing guru/rock star. In his signature line on his profile page (scroll to the bottom of the page) there is a link with pricing information. Also, CakeBoss software is a wonderful tool for pricing for the home baker. You will still need to do some research for your local salary for your skill level, input your local ingredient cost and there's a small learning curve. However, it's a start. Not to mention the legal side. But that's a different question. GL

IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 4:58pm
post #3 of 48

A^^ This. ^^

klan30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klan30 Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 6:43pm
post #4 of 48

No. In fact my prices are slightly higher.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 9:28pm
post #5 of 48