Michigan Cottage Law

Baking By PynkCupcake Updated 4 Aug 2013 , 7:26am by PynkCupcake

PynkCupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PynkCupcake Posted 28 Jun 2013 , 7:14am
post #1 of 8

question...i bake cupcakes in michigan at home and wanted to start selling at markets, malls etc but i was wondering, do my cupcakes have to be pre-individually wrapped or can i just have them in packs by the dozen and package as i go, by letting my customers choose the ones they want and build their own dozen?? i know the ingrdients have to be listed but what if i just leave the ingredients posted somewhere on my booth or table. im still new to this all. please also give me any other helpful info i may need to know. tia!!!

7 replies
PynkCupcake Posted 28 Jun 2013 , 7:16am
post #2 of 8

i also sometimes use box mix, do i just list ingredients like they have them listed on the box for example: betty crocker white cake mix (all the ingredietnts listed here), vanilla extract (all ingredients lised here) and so forth... let me know. thanks

LeslieBruckman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeslieBruckman Posted 28 Jun 2013 , 7:46am
post #3 of 8

I live in Michigan. You have to list all ingredients... So, the cake mix and all it's ingredients and then the milk/water, eggs, oil, flavorings, etc. You have to list them by approximate weight... so ascending from heavy to light... just your best guess.
And, you are not actually supposed to handle food at the markets. It should be all packaged and ready to sell. If you google "Michigan Cottage Law" there is a really nice website that covers most of it. How to package, how to label, etc. Also, the small business and technology association here in Michigan will host a class on it all if you have a local chapter... mine goes out of my local chamber of commerce.
Good luck!