Modelling Chocolate

Decorating By cakealicious7 Updated 28 Jun 2013 , 12:15pm by cakealicious7

cakealicious7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakealicious7 Posted 26 Jun 2013 , 7:22pm
post #1 of 10

AHi everybody : ) so I was thinking that I would like to start working with modelling chocolate, I have no experience with it whatsoever and was wondering if anybody had any tips? The recipe is just your basic good quality chocolate and liquid glucose,do any of you guys add anything extra? I would also like to know if there is anything I should be steering clear of. Thanks xx

9 replies
LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 26 Jun 2013 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 10

Make sure you don't add anything that isn't oil-based to it until after you have added the liquid glucose, otherwise the chocolate will seize and the batch will be useless.

WickedGoodies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WickedGoodies Posted 27 Jun 2013 , 5:29pm
post #3 of 10

Hi there. Here is my recipe and instructions for how to use modelling chocolate ► http://www.wickedgoodies.net/2013/01/how-to-make-modeling-chocolate/

Lots of tips for you there. I hope that helps! 

Modeling a figurine out of modeling chocolate and piped chocolate. These photos are from my new book, Cake Decorating with Modeling Chocolate  http://www.wickedgoodies.net/cake-decorating-with-modeling-chocolate/

80's themed birthday cake finished in buttercream and modeling chocolate. Instructions for how to make the modeling chocolate decorations >> http://www.wickedgoodies.net/cake-decorating-with-modeling-chocolate/

jiya11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jiya11 Posted 27 Jun 2013 , 7:37pm
post #4 of 10

OMG, What an abundance of knowledge on your website. I am in love!! Thank You!

I got Ghiradelli and Target Brand white chips. Will update how it turns out.

One question: How does hot weather effect modelling chocolate? Will it melt/deform or the colors bleed into the cake?