I Need Advice

Business By caking404 Updated 24 Jun 2013 , 8:03pm by lorieleann

caking404 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caking404 Posted 23 Jun 2013 , 2:36pm
post #1 of 5

AI am self taught in baking and I have taken the wilton decorators courses at my local Micheals. I want to step my skills up and turn my passion into a business. I am unsure what direction to go in next. Should I attend school? My choices would be le cordon or atlanta metro or schools that charge per class. Or continue to learn through youtube and other websites. I am very serious and dedicated to this and I want to make beautiful delicious custom cakes. Please help!!! All advice is appreciated

4 replies
Godot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godot Posted 23 Jun 2013 , 2:43pm
post #2 of 5

Practice. Practice. Practice.

Learn new skills - hone the ones you have. Take business classes - it's just not enough to be able to decorate.

Ten thousand hours.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 23 Jun 2013 , 10:43pm
post #3 of 5

Definitely take some business and finance classes.  Also, read this forum daily!  As for decorating, I agree, practice works wonders!  How are your baking skills?  Le Cordon Bleu might be good, but it's not necessary.  Most of the bakers on here seem to be self-taught.  

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 24 Jun 2013 , 12:38am
post #4 of 5

ABefore spending money on classes, do your research and figure out if you can even make a business work - is there enough of a market for the kind of cakes you want to sell, how much is it going to cost you to set up a business (local licensing laws, cost of equipment, cost of premises if required etc), how are you going to finance it.