Gumpaste Flowers You Would Rather Buy Than Make

Business By amethystjcm Updated 7 Jun 2013 , 6:14pm by amethystjcm

amethystjcm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amethystjcm Posted 30 May 2013 , 11:39pm
post #1 of 15

Hello Everyone!

I'm very new to cakecentral and this is my very first post icon_smile.gif.

I've done several dozen cakes on the side and I've figured out that I very much prefer the decorating part to the baking, icing, stacking, frosting part of the job.

Now, I've decided to focus my work on gumpaste flowers and other decorations. Can you please provide input on which flowers you'd rather buy than take the time and trouble to make? A poster on another thread said hydrangeas. Any other flowers?

I would be concentrating on making them very realistic (so they may be quite delicate) but I figured since I'll be concentrating on local sales, shipping won't be so much of an issue...

thanks in advance for your feedback!

14 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 31 May 2013 , 12:52am
post #2 of 15

I love making any g/p flower. I wish i had a job making them all day!!! lol!! I love the idea of making them realistic looking.

smittyditty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smittyditty Posted 31 May 2013 , 2:59am
post #3 of 15

I agree with you TOTALLY! I love making the flowers all of them. I think if you buy a hydrangea mold which at one time I looked into they would be much faster. They looked real too. So no I can't say there is a flower I don't like making yet, but I'll let you know. :)

scrumdiddlycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrumdiddlycakes Posted 31 May 2013 , 3:15am
post #4 of 15

I enjoy making them, and actually make them in large batches in white, so that I always have a huge stash. That said, I will order the little filler flowers if I need a lot. I still colour them myself, but that can save me hours and hours of work if I need a ton.

kearniesue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile