Fondant

Decorating By Cakestable Updated 4 Jun 2013 , 1:10pm by cakealicious7

Cakestable Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakestable Posted 28 May 2013 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 21

Hi all,

I am new to cake making and I have been using homemade MMF fondant.  Lately fondant is started to crack on the edges and I feel like stop making cake for this reason. Can anyone recommend what I can do to rectify this issue? I was thinking about buying fondant than making but not sure which brand to get it.  Can someone recommend that too.. I live in Ottawa, Canada.  Thanks

20 replies
kgraham22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kgraham22 Posted 28 May 2013 , 7:27pm
post #2 of 21

I'm having this same problem with Satin Ice and Wilton brand fondants.  It's tearing before I can even begin smoothing.  I end up with big cracks when doing tall cakes.  Any ideas?

cakealicious7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakealicious7 Posted 28 May 2013 , 7:39pm
post #3 of 21

AIt could possibly be because your taking too long working with it, also knead well so the warmth of your hands can ' reactivate ' it again. I've also heard great things about THE MAT - why don't you try investing in one? Hope that helped a little bit!!

jennicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennicake Posted 28 May 2013 , 7:40pm
post #4 of 21

I find this used to happen to me a lot when I used powdered sugar and/or cornstarch while rolling to prevent sticking.  I would always end up with dried, cracking fondant.  Lately I use shortening on my hands when I knead the fondant before rolling, and have had zero issues with cracking.  So if you are using powdered sugar or cornstarch, I would stop doing that and see if it helps.

Cakestable Posted 28 May 2013 , 7:53pm
post #5 of 21

AI use shorting but that doesn't help me. Could be the thickness of the fondant or the receipt of marshmallow fondant? Can you guys share your receipt? I am going look into THE MAT. Thank you guys