Rose Levy's Buttercream Recipes? Granulated Sugar?

Decorating By pamalbake Updated 17 Apr 2013 , 11:37am by elletrees

pamalbake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pamalbake Posted 14 Apr 2013 , 4:20pm
post #1 of 14

I am a newbie at this, having taken all of the courses I can and continue when I see more. All of the recipes I have learned for buttercream have powdered sugar.  I am reading RLB's cake bible and her's use granulated sugar that is heated. Is there a comparison in flavor and texture?  I assume it is not as sweet and of course she uses egg yolks or egg whites. I have been using 1/2 butter and 1/2 veg. crisco with powdered sugar ( wilton recipe and Toba Garrett) .  Any advise or insight? I am trying to step it up into higher quality baking, but am new at that too.

Thank you.  

13 replies
kazita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kazita Posted 14 Apr 2013 , 4:57pm
post #2 of 14

AI don't know about the buttercream recipe in the book that you are trying to use right now. You say that you're trying to move to higher quality ingredients , well using crisco vegetable shortening is greasy and in my opinion GROSS. To make a better buttercream use high ratio shortening, it is made out of different oils and different additives and makes for a better tasting buttercream. You can buy high ratio shortening at a cake specialty shop a restaurant depot or online. It is kind of expensive but well worth it.

www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00024WNTU

HAPPY BAKING :grin:

www.littleladycakes.com/2009/04/high-ratio-shortening.html?m=1

scrumdiddlycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrumdiddlycakes Posted 14 Apr 2013 , 5:11pm
post #3 of 14

Athe meringue buttercreams are a lot richer and have a more buttery taste. Night and day difference when compared to American butter cream in my opinion. French is my favorite, the one with the yolks, but Italian its very good as well and a little more stable. Has a very smooth creamy texture.