Please Help

Decorating By nancysmom Updated 10 Apr 2013 , 4:25pm by ddaigle

nancysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nancysmom Posted 9 Apr 2013 , 11:04pm
post #1 of 19

I have been making cakes for 4 years now. I need help figuring out what I have been doing wrong. My cakes seen to have a line around where the 2 layers meet. It seems fine the day I decorate them, but when I see pictures of them at the party I seem to see a line around it. I use buttercream as a filling and then crumb  coat my cake and fondant over it. Could any one help me with is problem. Here I have attached 2 pictures for you all to see. Thank you. :)

18 replies
nancysmom Posted 9 Apr 2013 , 11:06pm
post #2 of 19

Well only one picture came out here is the other one. 

Cakemommy2012 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakemommy2012 Posted 9 Apr 2013 , 11:25pm
post #3 of 19

Im not sure the official term but its the air coming out from your cake settling.  Alot of people on here reccomend filling your cake then putting something heavy (like a clean floor tile) to lightly press on it, as to let all the air escape before icing it. There are a few old threads about it--ill try to find em!  HTH

Cakes look great BTW!! 

auntginn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntginn Posted 9 Apr 2013 , 11:34pm
post #4 of 19

I see it both cakes.  Let me ask you 2 questions.  #1 When you are putting the layers together do you put top sides together?  That is do you put the 1st layer right side up and the top one top side down?  #2 Do you pipe a line of buttercream around the edge of the cake before filling.

Also I bevel the top of each cake.  I found this made all the difference.  

nancysmom Posted 9 Apr 2013 , 11:53pm
post #5 of 19

auntginn, thank you for helping out. I put top side down on the bottom layer and top side up on the top layer. I do not pipe a line of butter cream when the filling is buttercream. Only when it's a differant filling other than buttercream.