Fruit Cake For A Wedding - Meant To Last A Year

Decorating By Pria Updated 4 Apr 2013 , 12:11pm by mmmmmmmmcake1954

Pria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pria Posted 4 Apr 2013 , 5:16am
post #1 of 5

hi all...

I have a bride who has placed a last minute order for a wedding cake.   Her wedding is in 20 days.  She wants the top tier to be a fruit cake which she will keep till her first anniversary.  I am not an expert in fruit cakes. 

I need some help here with the trusted recipes and also techniques.

I bake the fruit cake and I know I need to "feed" it with brandy to help keep it moist and also help preserve it.  How often do I feed it ?

For the covering & decorating of the cake,  Do I level the cake ?  or does this provide an opportunity for the cake to dry out or spoil ?  Do I spritz with brandy before covering in the marizpan ?  With the fondant, Is there anything special to remember ?

Does the bride preserve the cake by freezing it ?

Please advise, I am so lost.

Thanks.

4 replies
Spireite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spireite Posted 4 Apr 2013 , 9:33am
post #2 of 5

I 'feed' my fruit cakes every 1-3 weeks...depending how far ahead I've baked them before being needed.  You should be able to feed your cake at least once. 

I double wrap in greaseproof paper and foil and then store upside down in a metal cake tin. Storing upside down will naturally 'level' them. If you do need to level it, be sure to cover all sides (including the bottom) with marzipan to seal it, although underneath will only require a thin layer.  The marzipan also helps get a nice level area to work with.