Red Cake (Not Chocolate/red Velvet)

Baking By lirana Updated 1 Mar 2013 , 5:40pm by lirana

lirana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lirana Posted 1 Mar 2013 , 5:48am
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone. I just found this place a few days ago, and I'm sooo glad I found it. I am attempting to bake my own wedding cake this October. I've never done a tiered cake before, but I've watched enough cake baking tv shows that it should turn out perfectly, right?

Anyway, I am doing the first (of what I assume will be many) cake experiment this coming week. I really want to have a red cake, but I HATE red velvet. Honestly, I'm just not a big chocolate cake fan in general. Sacrilege, I know. So my first test is to make a Strawberry Cake. I will be using this recipe which calls for 10-15 drops of red food coloring to give it a pink color. I want the cake to be red, not pink. Can I just double the amount of food coloring? I know that too much food coloring, particularly red, can change the flavor. Also, is liquid food coloring better, or should I get the gel kind?

I am also not opposed to swapping strawberry for cherry. Do you think cherry might work better to get a red cake? Also, since the recipe I linked is based off of the WASC recipe, it should hold up fine to stacking, yes? I am not going to be doing any tier work yet, but right now I plan on doing 3 tiers: 10", 8", and 6". 

Thanks for taking the time to answer all of my questions!

4 replies
Sammy09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sammy09 Posted 1 Mar 2013 , 6:24am
post #2 of 5

ABump! I would also like to know if the liquid added would affect the recipe. I hope Rosie Levenbaum is reading. Thanks!

Jennifer353 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jennifer353 Posted 1 Mar 2013 , 1:24pm
post #3 of 5

I'm not very fimilar with the WASC recipe but on some of your other questions...