Cakes From Scratch

Baking By bakedindy Updated 4 Mar 2013 , 9:46pm by SystemMod2

bakedindy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakedindy Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 3:34am
post #1 of 36

I've been making cakes for 10 years, but for me it's the art of it.  Working with fondant, sculpting and such.  I'm trying to make a business out of my hobby now that I'm a stay at home mom, but have no culinary training.  I'd love to stop using boxed cake mixes for my cakes, but don't know of a good recipe.  Anyone have one, or a collection of some, they are willing to share?  I'm also testing out butter cream recipes, but have found a few I've been trying. 

I like a moist cake, but wouldn't mind two recipes, one that is more moist to use for regular cakes, and another that is more sturdy for my sculpted cakes.

Thanks so much for the help!!

Lisa

bakedind.com

35 replies
IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 3:44am
post #2 of 36

APick up your Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, and start baking. The only way I found some 'just right' recipes was to make a LOT of them, take notes, and stick with a favorite. I actually think that was a fun part, but I'm into baking.

waggs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
waggs Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 4:24am
post #3 of 36

Go to beyond buttercream she has great recipes and they are foolproof .  They also taste great. 

crustdust Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crustdust Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 4:27am
post #4 of 36

AWhite Cake - The Cake Bible

First off all, bring all ingredients to room temperature. Milk, eggs, butter should not be used straight from the cooler. Vanilla - get rid of that immiation and invest in some good vanilla. I use vanilla beans or vanilla paste made from Nielsen Massey.

This makes enough for 2 x 8" pans or 24 cupcakes

10.5oz cake flour 10.5oz sugar 6oz butter 8oz whole milk 4.75oz egg whites 2.5tsp baking powder 1tsp kosher salt 1 vanilla bean