Uneven Baking

Decorating By sarahcatherine71 Updated 18 Feb 2013 , 11:35pm by sarahcatherine71

sarahcatherine71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahcatherine71 Posted 18 Feb 2013 , 9:04pm
post #1 of 3

I am baking in a GE Profile Oven.  I usually use the convection setting (which my oven automatically adjusts the temp for me saving me math).  The oven is 6-7 years old and I have been using it for a cottage business for the past 4 years.  In the past few months it suddenly is not baking properly.  At first I thought I made a user error due to be so busy.  Now I know it is not me it is the oven.  Business is slow so now is the time to get it fixed. 

The symptoms are that the insides are raw while the outside is dry (cakes) or the outside is burned (cookies).  The problem is worse with the cookies than cake- maybe because it has less time to bake?  I have been testing using the most stable recipes, and cheapest- white cake, sugar cookies and chocolate chip cookies.  At first I assumed the temp was too high so adjusted that down.  Then I bought a new thermometer for in the oven.  Yes the old thermometer in the oven was not accurate but the new one is yet still having problem.  I continued to adjust temperatures by increments of 10 degrees both up and down (for a total decrease of 50 degrees and the same for increase) and everything comes out the same with the only difference being the total baking time.