Baking 14" Cake For The First Time

Decorating By littlemrslarge Updated 8 Mar 2013 , 2:40am by PollyKosi

littlemrslarge Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlemrslarge Posted 17 Feb 2013 , 3:57am
post #1 of 9

Hey all - I have my first "real" wedding cake coming up in two weeks.  I've done tiered competition cakes, but nothing that needed to taste good (hah!) since they were for display only.  This will be a 6-10-14 traditional round cake, each tier comprised of 2 layers (WASC recipe).  This is my first time tackling the 14" round cake.  I've read that I need to put an upside-down metal flower nail in the center of the pan to help the heat distribute evenly.  Is there anything else I need to do to ensure it bakes all the way through without getting overdone?  I did a couple of half-sheet cakes (13x18") for work a couple of years ago and didn't use the flower nail trick, and they seemed to bake well... but that shape pan might work differently than a round one.  Thanks for the help!

8 replies
AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 17 Feb 2013 , 4:16am
post #2 of 9

Bake even strips will help, and lower your temp to 325 and bake longer. This will help it bake evenly and not crisp the edges.

SaltCakeCity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SaltCakeCity Posted 17 Feb 2013 , 4:45am
post #3 of 9

I agree with both people that have responded. Lower the temp, bake for longer and I actually use at least 5 flower nails in a 14 inch round. I might be over doing it but my cakes always come out even :) Happy caking!

yortma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yortma Posted 17 Feb 2013 , 3:56pm
post #4 of 9