Open Lid On Cake... How Do I Do It?!

Decorating By SonyaE Updated 25 Feb 2013 , 10:55pm by LeslieBruckman

SonyaE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SonyaE Posted 11 Feb 2013 , 2:14pm
post #1 of 6

AHello everyone - I'm very very new to the world of cake making/decorating however have recently been obsessed with learning on my own! I'll be making a cake for my mothers birthday which incorporates bits and pieces about her so I'm planning on making a large squares dice cake with the top opened and a lobster popping out ... Similar to the lobster in the pot cake however with a dice cake. My question is .. Is it possible to make the opened lid out of rice cereal treats covered in fondant held with dowels or would a simple cardboard lid covered in fondant work best? I would like to try to keep it all edible but I understand sometimes its just hard to do. Thanks for all your help!! I've attached a picture of my very first cake ever! [IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/2919068/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

5 replies
savannahquinn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
savannahquinn Posted 11 Feb 2013 , 7:01pm
post #2 of 6

search in the forum, there was a post and responses about that not too long ago.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SonyaE Posted 11 Feb 2013 , 9:04pm
post #4 of 6

AWonderful! Thanks for the help!

SonyaE Posted 25 Feb 2013 , 2:36pm
post #5 of 6

AIt worked out well considering it was my first fondant covered cake and first time moulding with RKT! [IMG][IMG][IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/2932059/width/200/height/400[/IMG][/IMG][/IMG]

LeslieBruckman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeslieBruckman Posted 25 Feb 2013 , 10:55pm
post #6 of 6