The Fondant Will Not Beat Me!

Decorating By Moopig23 Updated 11 Feb 2013 , 7:16am by Apti

Moopig23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Moopig23 Posted 10 Feb 2013 , 8:18pm
post #1 of 13

AEver heard of writers block? Well I am having fondant block. I thought I had it mastered a while ago but now I am dealing with crumbly, cracking, tearing fondant all over again.

I have been searching the internet and forums for about a week now. No luck so far.

Like many of you, I am self taught and on a budget. I actually had no clue fondant premade was done by anyone other than Wilton until this week.

Ok, so i pulled out my package of Wilton rolled fondant and started to do my thing. I began to knead it a little. Then i used the Wilton gel color pink and added it to the fondant with a toothpick. I began to knead the color in when it began to get sticky. So I pulled out the powdered sugar, kneaded that in and rolled it out to cover the cake. I then placed the fondant on the cake (not too thin, not too thick) and it cracked on the edges immediately. So, I peeled it off and rekneaded and rerolled it. 2 times later with the same results, I went to bed mad as can be.

From there, I tried another piece but used cornstarch instead. Then it became too dry, so I added crisco. As I was kneading, I noticed the edges were still crumbly so I kneaded and kneaded. Same results.

I tried to find tips on how you can tell if it is over kneaded and found no answer. Is there a way to tell?

Long story short, I have tried: Powdered sugar Corn starch Crisco Glycerine Microwave

The glycerine got my hopes up when I divided the fondant into smaller pieces and kneaded them one at a time but when I combined all the pieces together to knead one big ball of fondant, my nightmare came back.

So I am debating what step to use next. I went to Michaels and while it hurt my wallet, I purchased some Duff fondant. Some other forum suggested to mix the Duff with the Wilton.