Need Help Fixing Fondant Color. Please Help Me.

Decorating By jazzy442 Updated 8 Feb 2013 , 5:42pm by jazzy442

jazzy442 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jazzy442 Posted 8 Feb 2013 , 2:06am
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone. Hope someone can help me. I`m trying to make my daughter a One Direction cake for her birthday this weekend. I have never used or made fondant before and am having trouble getting the colors right. For the red color on the Union Jack flag so far it looks the color a school pencil eraser. LOL. Is there anyway I can fix it to get more of a RED color?

10 replies
Annabakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Annabakescakes Posted 8 Feb 2013 , 2:11am
post #2 of 11

AAdd more color! It takes an obscene amount of red (or black) to make those colors pop.

jazzy442 Posted 8 Feb 2013 , 2:23am
post #3 of 11

Thanks for the quick response. Will go add more red. I was wondering about the blue as well. Will try to add a bit more black to see if that makes it look right. :)

Annabakescakes Posted 8 Feb 2013 , 3:01am
post #4 of 11

ABlue isn't as bad, none of the colors are as bad as red and black. In fact, after I make red, or black, I will often wind up scooping extra color out of the yellow or whatever, before bi mix it in,, because I get in the mind set of needing a lot, and get carried away ;-) you can always add more, but you cannot take it out.

jazzy442 Posted 8 Feb 2013 , 3:12am
post #5 of 11

Thanks again for the help. Wow. That did take a lot of red. But its where it needs to be now. I hope I don`t screw up and I can make the cake look decent. Have never worked with fondant before and am not very artistic. LOL. So jealous of all the cakes everyone has posted on this site.

bikemom3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bikemom3 Posted 8 Feb 2013 , 3:16am
post #6 of 11