Best Piping Tool For Beginners?

Decorating By VanillaCake000 Updated 5 Feb 2013 , 7:02am by Ducky316

VanillaCake000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VanillaCake000 Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 7:49pm
post #1 of 7

I've only just started baking cakes (only just signed up too!) and want to be able to do all the fancy swirly icing icon_biggrin.gif but I'm not very good with a piping bag...I know there's alternatives like icing syringes but which would you all recommend for a beginner?

6 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 7:53pm
post #2 of 7

piping bag

try parchment -- try different textures, different bags

piping is piping though

it's like learing to ride a bike or cursive writing

it's technique--you need this

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 7:59pm
post #3 of 7

A/agree with k8memphis.

Local craft store will carry the Wilton piping practice board.

BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 9:10pm
post #4 of 7

You don't need a practise board.  

But you do have to make sure your icing is the correct consistency for piping. Read these and watch the videos.

http://www.wilton.com/decorating/icing/icing-consistency.cfm

http://www.wilton.com/decorating/decorating-basics/using-decorating-bags.cfm

Stick a piece of bakers parchment onto a cookie sheet and start piping.  Use a full cup of icing and make swirls using a  Wilton 1M (Ateco 846) tip. 

When you are done, scrape off that icing and put it back into the bag.  Do this again every day until you can make perfect swirls. Use the same icing over and over--just don't use it on a cake...

Then you go on to flowers the same way. Start with flat flowers like violets and wild roses.  Learn to move and control the tip and bag pressure until you can make a decent flat flower.  Then you can go on to 3D roses and other complex flowers.