Baby Boy Shower Soccer/sport Theme

Decorating By forjenns Updated 4 Feb 2013 , 4:43am by melanie-1221

forjenns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forjenns Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 4:08am
post #1 of 4

Hi all,

I have been asked to make a boy shower cake with a soccer/sports theme in 7 days for about 20 people.  I am not sure I can get the 3D ball pan soon enough and my bowls I usually bake with are more doll dress shaped.  I am not very confident in my ability to carve.

I have a 6", 8", 12" round, 8" square and 1/2 sheet pans.  I have seen the cakes with the top decorated like a soccer ball but I can't vision how I would make that look babyshower-ish.

I am pretty  daring and will to try new things however, the last cake for this friend was a disaster so I feel pressured to to an extra good, extra special job this time.

Any advice, thoughts, ideas would be greatly appreciated.

BTW - in case it is not obvious I am new to this and LOVE all the beautiful cakes on here.

TIA

3 replies
melanie-1221 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melanie-1221 Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 4:23am
post #2 of 4

Did she specifically ask for a soccer ball cake or could you get away with just the sports / soccer theme?

I did a cake for a baseball / sports themed shower where I did the pregnant belly cake in a Yankee's jersey and decorated the cake board with fondant sport balls.

Could you do just a belly cake in a soccer jersey and put a soccer ball in the cake board maybe? You wouldn't have to carve and you could use the pans you have.

forjenns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forjenns Posted 4 Feb 2013 , 4:39am
post #3 of 4

That is a great idea!  I think they would like the belly cake idea.

I guess Dad plays soccer so they would prefer that to be the primary theme but they said anything sports would be good, they felt bad about asking so late.

I searched for how to make a belly cake and it looks like I would need special pans.  I'm not sure how I could make it with the pans I have?