Post A Craigslist Ad For A Assistant?! Advice Please.

Business By LovelyCakes4Us Updated 12 Jan 2013 , 1:31pm by CindiM

LovelyCakes4Us Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LovelyCakes4Us Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 2:49pm
post #1 of 14

AHowdy, Is it smart to look for a assistant through craigslist? Also how would i put in the ad that pay right now will not be so great, but if you venture with me pay will not be a issue as I'm just starting out my business.. I have nooo idea how to word that maybe a little help? Yep before you ask I am starting safeserve, business license, commercial kitchen ect ect i just need some help with all the business mumbo jumbo!

13 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 3:15pm
post #2 of 14

You don't have to put anything at all into the ad about pay.

You MUST pay at least minimum wage plus employers contributions for unemployment insurance and govt pension according to your country and state. Do your math before you post any help wanted ad.  You MUST make your payments on time according to your tax laws--usually monthly.

But you are gonna get a real bunch of hacks on Craigslist...better save your time for a legitimate small ad in your local/regional  weekly paper.  Your business pays for it, you know.

When you interview, you may say that pay will be determined by experience.  And that you have a probationary period.  You MUST put all such details in writing BEFORE you hire.  You MUST have an objective way to evaluate skills BEFORE you hire.

And if you are asking "venture with me and the pay will go up" then that is NOT an employee--that is a business partner. 

And may I ask why you would be hiring somebody when you don't know the "business mumbo jumbo"--don't you understand that employers have a lot of legal obligations? Such as how to communicate the state labour and safety regs to employees and to enforce them?  And how exactly to hire and fire?