Anyone Else Dislike Italian Meringue Buttercream?

Decorating By bittersweety Updated 12 Apr 2016 , 3:52pm by julia1812

bittersweety Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bittersweety Posted 9 Jan 2013 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 25

so im a professional baker as many of you are...but i just can't seem to grow a fondness for imbc! i make a delicious imbc (as reported by others) but i just feel like they all have a bit of a "slick" mouthfeel and it just doesn;t sit well with me... i feel like i should love all frostings, but alas... i guess i'm just a classic whipped american buttercream fan.. anyone else dislike the feel of imbc? or am i alone....

24 replies
AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 9 Jan 2013 , 3:53pm
post #2 of 25

It's extremely rich, to me.  What nauseates me is seeing cupcakes with towers of IMBC.  A cupcake is basically the same height as a regular slice of cake, yet people put enough icing on there to double the height.  They end up being very top-heavy that way.

Meringue buttercreams need a lot of flavoring.  I use at least three tablespoons of vanilla when I make it.  My family is not a fan of IMBC.  I like it, but only in small amounts.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 9 Jan 2013 , 4:54pm
post #3 of 25

::raises hand::

doesn't like IMBC or SMBC

Yes, I can make it properly.

Yes, I can put a lot of flavoring in it.

Still don't like it.

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 9 Jan 2013 , 5:03pm
post #4 of 25

I use SMBC exclusively, and love it. That said, I've had some other people's meringue buttercreams and did not like them at all. Wayyyyy too buttery, and I can see how people could be put off by it. (I know IMBC is being discussed here, but same thing basically)