Ideas Please...librarian Retirement!

Decorating By Earlval33 Updated 23 Feb 2013 , 1:51am by Annabakescakes

Earlval33 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Earlval33 Posted 13 Dec 2012 , 8:25pm
post #1 of 18

AI was asked by my kids elementary school principle to make a cake for the librarians retirement party next Tuesday. I'm at a loss I guess because I'm so nervous! 

I am a hobby baker and do not charge for my cakes but it is soooo important to me that this be great because my babies are always so proud of my cakes and use it as bragging rights lol. 

Here is my level of experience, I wish I could show you but I only have an iPhone and can't upload photos. 

I have done several stacked cakes but not real comfortable with carving. I have used RKT for a football and had pretty good experience with my MMF. I only have round cake pans in 4 sizes and a 13" square pan. It's not in my budget to purchase other pans but I have cut cakes to be the size/shape I needed before. I keep my baking simple and have had no problems but LOTS of compliments on taste (most important part to me) I doubt myself everytime I do a cake but everyone always goes nuts over them...even people who dont like me enough to lie lol. 

Thank you so much for your help!  Val

17 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 13 Dec 2012 , 8:48pm
post #2 of 18

You could make several books. Bake some 2" deep cakes in your square pan.  Slice in half and sandwich together with buttercream icing. Chill them, cut into various book sized pieces,  and ice three edges with buttercream marked with lines from a decorating comb.  

Get some fondant in different colours.  Roll each cover in one piece and wrap around with 1/4" overhang. 

Get a large cake board, extra heavy weight (or glue together two heavy cardboards).