Mog Is An Old Nemesis (Story)

Business By BomCakes Updated 4 Dec 2012 , 9:58pm by BomCakes

BomCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BomCakes Posted 2 Dec 2012 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 16

Hello everyone, I really need advice on this super touchy subject. I have been building a home based cake business for the last 3 years. Word of mouth mostly and now working with a local caterer as their cake designer. I have been communicating back and forth by phone and FB with a lovely girl who is "so excited" about me doing her wedding cake in July. Hers would be one of three booked so far from one of this year's clients. We have never met and I have yet to have her over for a sit down consult. A few days ago I saw her engagement announcement in the newspaper and her info was there along with her fiance' who I recognized immediately as the son of my Jr. High/High School sweetheart. Long story short the groom's mom knows me as a past relationship, completely hates the sight of me, and despite  being friendly toward her over the years and trying the high road approach, even going so far as apologizing for anything at all I may have said/done (??) I have accepted that She's not going to ever be friendly (situation has existed for over 20 years) It's sort of comical any more because her theatrics are so silly to me.Thankfully we almost never interact.

So conundrum is I DO not want to be the cause of a dark spot on this couple's wedding day in any way.  Any advice on how to go forward? I have no interest in lying to get out of the cake and not really wanting to involve the bride in the details. My other fear in all this is ANYthing I say could/would potentially be repeated and could damage my business reputation. How to proceed with the business of cake or, and I'm leaning toward, let this one go without hurting the feelings of the bride/making her feel ditched? Thanks :0)   

15 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 2 Dec 2012 , 10:06pm