Problem With Buttercream

Baking By steveproxy Updated 15 May 2013 , 6:39pm by tahera1990

steveproxy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
steveproxy Posted 30 Oct 2012 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 21

Hi everyone,

I just joined and this is my first time here. I am in real need of help I am a beginner of cake making with using buttercream and fondant I am making some Christmas themed cupcakes and I was making the buttercream and tried to pipe my designs however there was a problem when I piped, I piped using the star nozzle onto the cupcake and it just went wrong the buttercream just went sloppy like the shape of the star just went away like wetsand does when it goes back to it's normal state. I hope that I am getting my point across clearly, what am I doing wrong? Am I meant to be letting it firm in the fridge first before piping? Maybe I have too warm hands I always see the chefs on the T.V doing it straight from being made.

Any help is greatly appreciated

20 replies
venuscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
venuscakes Posted 30 Oct 2012 , 5:09pm
post #2 of 21

Hi I am not sure on how you make your buttercream but the first thing that comes to mind is that it is just not firm enough in the first place so it wont hold any pattern from the nozzle.

I only pipe with royal icing but I do often make very firm buttercream to go into the centre of my cakes. It is firm enough to stand a large wooden spoon in without it toppling.

hope this helps

Amanda xx

jenicharles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenicharles Posted 30 Oct 2012 , 5:18pm
post #3 of 21

Hello,

That would be my guess, as well, to much liquid in your butter cream.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 30 Oct 2012 , 5:41pm
post #4 of 21

AWas it a meringue buttercream or the confectioner's sugar variety? It sounds too soft, whichever it was.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 30 Oct 2012 , 6:14pm
post #5 of 21