How Long Until Things Go Smoothly?

Decorating By LizzieAylett Updated 1 Nov 2012 , 4:51am by SugarQueenie

LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 24 Oct 2012 , 11:38am
post #1 of 13

I'm just getting rather discouraged - it seems that no matter what I try to do, there's always something about the project that doesn't work out and I have to scrabble to work out a solution. Nothing major, just (for example) things like the consistency of the fondant being off, or making a mark in the buttercream when transferring cakes, etc. I'm just a hobby baker, so only doing about a cake a week or so. Can anyone share their experiences on how long it takes until (if ever) you get to the stage where you know it will all just work? Needing a bit of encouragement at the moment.

Thanks,
Lizzie

12 replies
cakemaker2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemaker2 Posted 24 Oct 2012 , 2:12pm
post #2 of 13

I've been doing cakes for 25+ years, and don't think I have ever had one come out perfect from start to finish. You just have to know that you can repair almost everything that goes wrong, and not to sweat the small stuff.
We see "perfect" cakes here on CC, but every cake has a backside, and they don't always tell you how many times they had to redo this or that, or stuck their fingernail in the side of the cake
( I am always doing that!).
The point is we all strive for perfection, but it doesn't really exist. We are our own worst critics, and we know all the flaws in our cakes, and could point them out, but we don't because where we see flaws, others see perfection. Give yourself a break, and like I said, don't sweat the small stuff. HTH. Keep on caking!

LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 25 Oct 2012 , 10:53am
post #3 of 13

Thank you. I'll try not to let it get to me icon_smile.gif

Danilou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Danilou Posted 25 Oct 2012 , 11:06am
post #4 of 13