Business Start Up

Business By youniquetreats Updated 31 Oct 2012 , 6:56pm by youniquetreats

youniquetreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
youniquetreats Posted 17 Oct 2012 , 9:38pm
post #1 of 6

Hello all! I am located in the central Florida area. Im currently sellling baked goods from my home under the Florida cottage law. Im looking to begin selling my products @ vendor events,.as well as small and large events. Ive been doong research on this And have had no luck, or the information is too complicated to understand. If anyone can give me some direction om the necessary steps i should take to move forward I would greatly appreciate it!

5 replies
mydearbakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mydearbakes Posted 20 Oct 2012 , 3:56am
post #2 of 6

Hi yourunique treats,

I'm very new in this too so perhaps we can help one another icon_wink.gif

I shared this little article which i found online on my Facebook, for starters, I say the article is quite useful since it is simple and practical ^^

http://www.get-small-business-ideas.com/start-a-cake-decorating-business.html

Hope if helps! =)

cliriano Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cliriano Posted 21 Oct 2012 , 9:57pm
post #3 of 6

What info are you looking for? You can sell your treats from home under the cottage food law at the events. The events/venues may ask you to complete a waiver (to supply actual food) if you are not licensed or permitted in a physical space outside of home.

I got a table at a cake show AND distributed samples and I never even signed the waiver. Some may ask you about insurance or you may have to sign something regarding liability. I suspect that each event/venue has different rules. Mostly, they want to be clear of liability if your food makes someone sick.

But from my understanding, in FL. you are able to create your goods at home (if they are baked goods) and sell them at a venue as long as you follow the rules including being under the $18k/yr cap, etc.