Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Baking By snowy88 Updated 3 Nov 2012 , 4:19am by snowy88

snowy88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowy88 Posted 16 Oct 2012 , 9:00pm
post #1 of 14

Hi everyone,

I'm new here and i wonder if someone out there can help me.
I'm a beginner in baking and just made Martha Stewart's Swiss Meringue Buttercream with strawberry puree a while ago. I am really disappointed that the frosting turned out to have a very strong buttery taste despite me adding plenty of strawberry puree.
I stayed away from buttercream frosting because I am afraid it will be grainy and buttery but it seem Swiss meringue is not the kind of frosting I'm looking for either.

I'm looking for the smooth fluffy type of frosting without any buttery taste that some bakeries have on their cupcakes, but i have no idea what type of frosting they are. There's no cream taste taste to it so I'm pretty sure they are not cream cheese frosting. icon_sad.gif I thought of baking some cupcakes for my boyfriend's birthday but it seem this is not as easy as it seem. And I thought baking cupcakes is easier than cake. icon_cry.gif

Do buttercream and swiss meringue frosting have strong buttery taste?

Frosting on Sprinkles and Magnolia cupcakes are called buttercream frosting? Boyfriend is not a fan of their frosting because they are pretty grainy.

Help please!

13 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 16 Oct 2012 , 10:24pm
post #2 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowy88

I'm looking for the smooth fluffy type of frosting without any buttery taste that some bakeries have on their cupcakes, but i have no idea what type of frosting they are. There's no cream taste taste to it so I'm pretty sure they are not cream cheese frosting.

The frosting without any buttery taste has been made with white vegetable shortening.

The best kind that you can make at home uses milk and cornstarch cooked together. That is then whipped into the shortening with sugar.