Funeral Cake

Decorating By AngelKiss Updated 5 Oct 2012 , 9:53pm by kakeladi

AngelKiss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelKiss Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 8:02pm
post #1 of 13

Hello to all, this is my first time at posting in the forums so please forgive me if I have done so incorrectly.
I have been asked by someone to make a cake for a funeral fo a baby born sleeping. I havn't been asked to make a funeral cake before and was hoping you could help me out with what would be appropriate. I appreciate any help I can get with this matter, thank you xx

12 replies
DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 8:43pm
post #2 of 13

Do I understand that the funeral is for a baby or that the request is for a sleeping baby.

Personally, I think less is way more when it comes to funerals. I prefer a classic round appropriately decorated according to flavor...no inscription or anything.

My mother died in March of this year. For her memorial, I made a display of desserts (cupcakes, mini key lime pies, etc.).

All4Show Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
All4Show Posted 4 Oct 2012 , 2:21am
post #3 of 13

"Born sleeping" refers to a "still birth", if that will help anybody with their answer. That's a tough one. Maybe somebody out there has done this before or has gone through it themselves and will know what would be appropriate.

GosiasKitchen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GosiasKitchen Posted 4 Oct 2012 , 2:58am
post #4 of 13

Having gone through a loss myself, I think butterflies and a simple round would be appropriate. The butterflies signify the loss of the child and are a beautiful symbol. Another idea could be an angel but I myself prefer the butterflies. Just my two cents.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 4 Oct 2012 , 3:05am
post #5 of 13