Anyone Have A List Of Questions To Ask A Customer?

Business By djbookkeeper Updated 5 Oct 2012 , 9:32pm by Apti

djbookkeeper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
djbookkeeper Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 12:32am
post #1 of 18

My daughter is just getting started and I thought it would be helpful for her to have a list of questions to ask when she gets calls from customers. Does anyone have a list to share?

Thanks!
Darlene

17 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 12:56am
post #2 of 18

Who are her customers and what will they be ordering?

djbookkeeper Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 1:06am
post #3 of 18

She does cakes, cupcakes and bouquets. No weddings, yet, so mostly birthdays and office parties. I'm a bookkeeper so I'm just trying to help her get organized. I can create a list but if someone has one that's been posted already, I love to save time! Do all of y'all just ask questions off the cuff?

Evoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Evoir Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 1:19am
post #4 of 18

It depends on what she herself needs to know in order to first take, then (importantly) complete the customer's order.

This gives her the opportunity to decline an order if she doesn't have the necessary skill set to actually make the cake. For example, an intricate crib topper on a christening cake, when she has never made one, nor even knows where to start in making one.

My business has a strong customer service focus. The questions are all about ensuring I can provide the perfect cake for each client icon_smile.gif

Hope this helps (no I don't have a list).

jason_kraft Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 2:19am
post #5 of 18

I usually start with the number of servings needed, budget, cake/frosting/filling flavors, requested design, pickup or delivery (location if delivered), date and time needed, and customer name/address/phone/email.