Need Help Making A Toy Story Cake

Decorating By cakezilla91 Updated 7 Oct 2012 , 9:58pm by debidehm

cakezilla91 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakezilla91 Posted 2 Oct 2012 , 8:05pm
post #1 of 11

Hey y'all!

My nephews birthday is in a month, and he's obsessed with toy story. My sister asked me to make a two tier cake with the amount of people showing up, so I thought of doing an 6" over an 8". I've NEVER done fondant cakes or tiered cakes before so I need all the help I can get. I'm still new to this and usually do well on the recipe rather than the decorating. I'm probably going to borrow ideas from other cakes on here .

In this cake http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1555682/toy-story I had a few questions. How do I get the red border, the font (and the colours of the font), and the wood? I know what to use to emboss the wood, but what do I use to make it - gumpaste and fondant?

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1744698/toy-story In this one, I really liked the brown border, how do I get that? Also the stars and nice and bright, how do I achieve that colour?

Last but not least http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1955318/toy-story-birthday-cake I might stick with the number on top instead of the moon, but how do I get the shape to come out so cute? And what ingredients do I use? He's turning two. Also if any one has an idea of how to do the 'rope' around the cake, that would be brilliant.

Sorry about so many questions, I want his cake to be perfect!! Any additional ideas or tips would be appreciated

10 replies
AngieV256 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngieV256 Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 12:12pm
post #2 of 11

hey there! to answer your questions the best I can:
It looks to me like each of the borders you asked about are just colored fondant that have been twisted together, the only difference being the width. just color your fondant and make two "snakes" stick together one end then spin the other end until its a s tight a spiral as you'd like.