Sourcing Thin Cardboard Cake Boards (Uk)

Decorating By LizzieAylett Updated 30 Aug 2012 , 8:49am by Relznik

LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 29 Aug 2012 , 7:04pm
post #1 of 10

Hi, I'm just starting out as a hobbyist, and a lot of the cake tutorials etc recommend the use of those thin cardboard cake boards on the bottom of each tier.

Can anyone please recommend a place where I can buy them in the UK (specifically Scotland). I've tried eBay and googling it, but either they're more expensive than the thick silver ones or come in massive bulk quantities. I'd only want a few of various sizes.

Thanks,
Lizzie

9 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 29 Aug 2012 , 7:55pm
post #2 of 10

What the tutorials recommend is the standards bakers corrugated circle that has one side treated with grease resistant coating.

Please do not ask for "thin" cake cards as you will get the floppy things that are nowhere near adequate for moving tiers around safely.

Please search online for "bakers circles" and make sure the picture shows that it is corrugated.

SoDivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SoDivine Posted 29 Aug 2012 , 8:06pm
post #3 of 10

Any local cake shop should have them and they are cheap!

You need to google "single thick cake card" or "board" and this will give you lots of options.

I know Cake Stuff is in Scotland but they are mail order only and the cost of shipping will be a bit disproportionate for a few thin boards....

Relznik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Relznik Posted 29 Aug 2012 , 8:14pm
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakingIrene

What the tutorials recommend is the standards bakers corrugated circle that has one side treated with grease resistant coating.

Please do not ask for "thin" cake cards as you will get the floppy things that are nowhere near adequate for moving tiers around safely.