Primary Color Buttercream

Decorating By bakinhoney1980 Updated 29 Aug 2012 , 9:43pm by ibeeflower

bakinhoney1980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinhoney1980 Posted 28 Aug 2012 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 6

I need some advice. How do you make buttercream icing into the primary colors like bright red and royal blue and most importantly purple! I have been doing cakes for a couple of years, and I have yet to master coloring the buttercream! With red it always comes out a muddy looking burgandy, with blue, I am usually close, but with purple, it looks more like a shade of blue. Any suggestions other than simply buying it colored, I will welcome!

5 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 28 Aug 2012 , 6:36pm
post #2 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakinhoney1980

How do you make buttercream icing into the primary colors like bright red and royal blue and most importantly purple!

Purple isn't a primary color, but to get vivid colors you just need to use a lot of coloring (or let it rest overnight for it to darken). Pinks tend to fade (especially under fluorescent lighting) and purples tend to turn more blue as the pink/red portion from within starts to fade out. I've read that adding a small amount of milk to purple buttercream helps to prevent it from fading.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 28 Aug 2012 , 9:43pm
post #3 of 6

It sounds to me that the gel colors you are using aren't good &/or not using enough. AmeriColor is a great brand. Wilton isn't so good.
As an example for primary colors you need to add about 1/4 teaspoon of the gel/paste to 1 cup of icing. No, I've never actually measured how much but it certainly is not a tip of the toothpick amount that is usually recommended icon_smile.gif