Red Velvet (Pound?) Cake Recipe Dense Enough To Stack 3 Teir

Baking By java3760 Updated 18 Jun 2013 , 11:38pm by ShakyCakes99

java3760 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
java3760 Posted 24 Aug 2012 , 3:52am
post #1 of 11

I have a wedding cake to do for next weekend and my bride wants Red Velvet Cake with buttercream icing. Is there a pound cake recipe for red velvet or how do I make a RV dense enough to stack 12's, 10''s and 8's? Help!!! I've read so many recipes my eyes are crossed LOL I need something that has a great track record. Thanks bunches.

10 replies
Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 24 Aug 2012 , 4:29am
post #2 of 11

If you are not dedicated to a scratch recipe, here is a doctored cake mix recipe that I have used in tiered cakes and carved cakes and cakes made in the Wilton 3D Skull pan. (Note: I am a hobby baker. I do not sell cakes.)

I recently did an anonymous taste test with 12 members of my Cake Club. Each of these members has many years of experience in the cake decorating community or bakery business. Each of them has tasted or made LOT of cakes!

I asked them to rate 4 of my most popular cakes (along with 5 buttercreams and 9 fillings/ganaches) from 1 to 5 stars. The instructions were as follows:
Please circle 1 to 5 stars for each tasting.
1 star = poor
3 stars = appropriate to sell to custom cake clients
5 stars = Best you've ever tasted

The results for this exact Red Velvet recipe were:
1 person gave it 1 star
2 people gave it 2 stars
5 people gave it 3 stars
1 person gave it 4 stars
2 people gave it 5 stars

So....3 people said it was not appropriate to be sold as a "custom cake" recipe. And....8 people said it was "appropriate to sell to custom cake clients" or BETTER. (1 person didn't like Red Velvet and didn't taste it.)

Courtesy of BlakesCakes from CakeCentral.comDOCTORED RED VELVET CAKE:

1 Duncan Hines Red Velvet Cake Mix (18.25 oz)
1 box white chocolate (hard to find) or chocolate instant pudding mix
4 eggs