5 Dozen Cupcakes And 65 Mile Drive In Summer Heat.. Help Me

Baking By Thegalnextdoor Updated 29 Aug 2012 , 3:32am by Thegalnextdoor

Thegalnextdoor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Thegalnextdoor Posted 20 Aug 2012 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 13

Okay, to start, I am new to the cake biz. I have my biggest order to date so far, 5 dozen cupcakes, half with gumpaste tiaras, and half with little petal rose toppers, all with SMBC. The gal who ordered them is a pal of my husband's, so I said no problem to delivering them to her 64 miles south of me.. in the dead of summer, and no experience with this distance, as I have never gone further than like 25 miles. So, as far as she knows everything is okie dokie, I know I can figure something out.

Here is my question, if I pack them by the dozen, in a large camping cooler, with a couple or less pounds of dry ice, will the gumpaste hold up okay without becoming tacky, AND will the dry ice keep them cold, without freezing them? She said she doesn't have space to refridgerate them, and insists on getting them the day before the event (baby shower), I think it's in the morning or something.

Anyway, what are your thoughts on this?

12 replies
mo_gateaux Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mo_gateaux Posted 21 Aug 2012 , 12:14am
post #2 of 13

I'm not sure about your packing plan, but could you refrigerate them with icing over night before delivery (should help the buttercream stay) and put the gumpaste pieces toppers on when you arrive? If she's a friend i'm sure she'll have no problem with you assembling a bit in her kitchen. That's what I would probably do.

Anybody else have advice?

aundrea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aundrea Posted 21 Aug 2012 , 12:40am
post #3 of 13

i agree with traveling over an hour i would assemble them when i arrived at the house. with extras just incase of breakage.

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 21 Aug 2012 , 12:43am
post #4 of 13