What Is The Difference With Fondant, Sugarpaste Or Gumpaste

Decorating By TJ_Cakes Updated 27 Aug 2012 , 10:12am by Relznik

TJ_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TJ_Cakes Posted 17 Aug 2012 , 5:47am
post #1 of 10

This may be a dumb question but I'm new to modeling figures and things. I feel like I've gotten down making things with fondant but I see so much that everyone using gumpaste. Is it best for modeling or I have seen to mix fondant and Gumpaste. Is Gumpaste edible? I have no idea what sugarpaste is. If anyone could clerify these for me and tell me which is best to use I would appreciate it so much. Thanks!

9 replies
vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 17 Aug 2012 , 7:36am
post #2 of 10

fondant = sugar paste
gum paste = flower paste

Both edible.

Gum paste dries harder than fondant, and can be rolled thinner without it tearing. Mixed with fondant to add a bit of strength than one can't achieve with fondant by itself.

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 17 Aug 2012 , 7:53am
post #3 of 10

This should be interesting what everyone says, I wonder if there is a correct answer?

Fondant = fondant: Sugar dough that does not dry super hard (or takes a while to dry super hard) and is edible, you put it outside a cake.

Gumpaste = sugarpaste = flourpaste: Dries super hard quickly, strong, preferred to make flowers, tastes disgusting and is not really edible when dry, especially not edible when made into a wire with flowers, colors etc.

Term "gumpaste" is mostly used in US, "sugarpaste" and "flourpaste" is mostly used in Europe and Australia. I prefer saying "sugarpaste" because it sounds a lot better the "GUMpaste". But that's a personal choice.

Bluehue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bluehue Posted 17 Aug 2012 , 8:59am
post #4 of 10

From an Australians perspective - here are a few links to help show the differences...