Disney Cakes!

Decorating By BlueRose8302 Updated 17 Aug 2012 , 6:32pm by TinkerCakes

BlueRose8302 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlueRose8302 Posted 14 Aug 2012 , 7:36pm
post #1 of 15

Now, I am just a hobby baker and I am not here at ALL to discuss the issue of copyright infringement. But I came across something interesting today. I was looking for a Halloween costume for my son and went to the Disney site. Right there on the home page was a gallery of Disney themed first birthday cakes! These were in no mean fantasy cakes or anything-just looked like cute ideas someone had made into confection. Not only was the site celebrating the cuteness of them, they were suggesting everyone else have a try for a Disney first birthday cake!! Now, is Disney so in need of money that they would encourage us to break copyright so they can sue us? I dunno. Just kinda weird....

14 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 14 Aug 2012 , 7:51pm
post #2 of 15

Copyright infringement occurs when an infringing item is sold or transferred to someone else, or displayed/performed publicly. So if you copy Mickey Mouse for a cake for your own family and no one posts a picture of the cake publicly you should be OK.

BlueRose8302 Posted 15 Aug 2012 , 2:06am
post #3 of 15

Like I said--not here to talk about copyright. I am not trying to make a cake and have people say it is ok. What AM saying, is that Disney--the biggest company of copyrighted character in the world--put on their own site that people make these cakes and "aren't they great!" These are cakes made by someone in their own kitchen and there is a picture and it is on a website. Just kinda weird.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 15 Aug 2012 , 7:44am
post #4 of 15