Help! Cake Size Serving Chart And Pricing A Cake!

Decorating By flourxxchildxx Updated 12 Jul 2012 , 7:16am by CWR41

flourxxchildxx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flourxxchildxx Posted 12 Jul 2012 , 1:26am
post #1 of 3

I'm new to the cake industry.. and I'm very serious about it, ive always been very creative but ive realized that being in this industry takes a lot more than that.. I'm having a problem that's caused me so many headaches, ive looked up so many websites and tried to figure this out but it only made things worse. Cake serving sizes and prices. Such a nightmare. Everybody had their own serving sizes and different prices.. and I have no idea where to even begin on pricing a cake. Why do they do it by serving? How big should the serving be? What if the bride wants a bigger serving size... does that mean I charge her more per slice.. how Much more then should I charge? Why is it when I look at someones serving chart for say a 6" round tier, do they all have different amounts of pieces it will serve.. do they to by the circumferance of a pan.. ive tried that and I got confused. Pricing a cake is so beyond me and ive sold quite a few and its getting serious with people recommending me to other people.. but I cant even price them correctly. Someone please help me icon_sad.gif

2 replies
bluesugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bluesugar Posted 12 Jul 2012 , 3:44am
post #2 of 3

I use the Wilton chart. I find that most, if not all, caterers around here cut the cakes according to this method. You can find the serving sizes of many different sized and shaped pans here:

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm