Should I Take On This Free Cake? Greatly In Need Of Advice

Decorating By tsal Updated 11 Jul 2012 , 11:23pm by tsal

tsal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tsal Posted 11 Jul 2012 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 16

Hi All,

I'm a hobbyist. I was doing free cakes for friends and family for about 2 years and then I burned out several months ago. I have 3 kids under the age of 7 and one oven. When I see something on a cake that I'm working on that I don't like, I'll redo it, which means that it takes me a long time to produce a cake. My husband was pressuring me to stop altogether as the friends and family who asked me to make the cakes, never offered to pay for supplies so my cakes were costing us a fortune, and cutting into my family time which caused a mess of stress.

So, I stopped. Cold. I have baked very rarely in the past few months.

A friend called yesterday and asked me to make her sister's wedding cake. She said that she would buy the supplies I need. Her sister is not picky and I can basically choose what I would like to make as long as it's a two-tier design - which makes the prospect of this cake even more appealing. There are many simple wedding designs that inspire me. I told her yesterday that I would speak to my husband about it (as she knows that the caking was a source of tension).

The wedding is August 18 - when I mentioned this to my husband, he said 'but we're scheduled to go camping that weekend'. I completely forgot about the camping trip. At first I thought, 'ok then, forget the cake', but it's a cake that I could decorate however I like - which never happens! I made one wedding cake in the past but it was in my early caking days and the flowers looked funny and the tiers were too shallow (it's on Page 2 in my gallery but don't laugh!). I have always wanted an opportunity to make anotehr one.