White Spots In Buttercream Icing?

Decorating By Mish22 Updated 15 Sep 2005 , 10:06am by vitade

Mish22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mish22 Posted 14 Sep 2005 , 12:10pm
post #1 of 14

Hi All,

I am very new to cake decorating and last night I put a crumb coat on my cake and this morning it has white spots on it icon_surprised.gif (the frosting color is light blue). I was told in class this could be from old shortening but I just bought it & have only used it with this batch of icing. I am using the Walmart brand....should I have used Crisco instead? I followed the Wilton recipe exactly- except for the meringue powder....I put a dash of salt in...

Any help or ideas are very much appreciated!!!!! Thanks so much!

Michelle icon_smile.gif

13 replies
stephanie214 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephanie214 Posted 14 Sep 2005 , 12:27pm
post #2 of 14

Hi Michelle,

This happens to me sometimes...don't worry, it will leave when you rebeat the icing to use again.

I'm not for sure what causes this, but I've noticed that it only happens with certain colors.

charman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charman Posted 14 Sep 2005 , 12:30pm
post #3 of 14

I've had the same problem...I've been told several reasons this could happen...
1. Didn't mix the color well enough
2. Didn't sift the 10x sugar...it is sugar clumps.
3. Too much humidity.

So I now mix and mix, sift and sift, and on occasion I have still gotten the little white spots. Very frustrating when you get a project finished, and let it dry overnight to wake up the next more to "SPOT!"...eerrrr! icon_cry.gif It's enough to make you want to cry...in fact, I have once.

Maybe someone else will have ideas. In regards to the shortening...I don't think that is it, but I have been told not to use anything but Crisco...however, if you get the same results...go for it. To each their own I always say! Anxious to see what other responses there will be on this one. icon_rolleyes.gif Hmmm...