Cake Transport For Campground Wedding

Decorating By kimber1959 Updated 14 Jul 2012 , 11:21pm by kimber1959

kimber1959 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimber1959 Posted 5 Jul 2012 , 11:28pm
post #1 of 14

Hi all! I'm hoping that I might be able to get some advice from some of you seasoned cake bakers regarding an upcoming wedding. Sorry that this is a bit lengthy.....

I was recruited by my neice to make her wedding cake. I am not a professional baker, but have a passion for baking cakes and learning decorating techniques. However, I normally only take these cakes to work or hand out pieces to friends and family.

Anyhow - my neice's wedding is at the end of this month, at a campground, up in Northern Michigan. It may very well be HOT that day and this is a rustic campground with no electricity. I've already decided to bake all of the cake layers at home (starting this weekend) and freezing them. Once we are "up north" on Thursday (before the Saturday wedding) I will make the cake fillings as we'll be staying at a cabin and I can make the fillings once we get there. The morning of the wedding, I will make of the icing. I am using Italian Meringue Buttercream for the icing because I have read that this is one of the best icings to use in outdoor heat, plus I love the taste of it!

My questions have to do with transport. We'll be traveling for approx 4-5 hours on Thursday morning to get to the cabin that we're staying in. I really don't want the cakes to start thawing until Friday evening sometime. The bottom layer of the cake will be a 16" round and I know that it won't fit into any of the ice coolers that I've ever seen - without being crammed into it and possibly ruined. And as far as the other layers, which may fit into the cooler fine, I'm not even sure they'll stay frozen by the time we get up north. I'm wondering if the cakes will be OK (taste and texture) if they happen to thaw on Thursday.